Online Conference

2011 AASLH Online Conference

Join us to explore the power of commemoration, remembrance, and new beginnings. The Civil War Sesquicentennial and the 10th Anniversary of 9/11 serve as the back-drop to this essential conversation of commemoration and how we experience our past.

Date:

September 14-16, 2011

Location:

www.aaslh.org/online2011

Sponsor:

American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

Description

The AASLH Online Conference, held on September 14-16, 2011, holds the promise of new beginnings. Commemoration provides us with sites for education, sites for commerce, and sites for reflection.

We, as a profession, are on a continuing quest to make collections and sites of commemoration meaningful and relevant; to increase their relevance to an ever-broadening and diverse audience; to meet the challenges of changing forms of communication and changing economy; and to take advantage of the constantly emerging technologies that have the potential to enable us to increase access to history experiences.

The promise of remembrance and new beginnings is inherent in the work of commemoration, a core promise that energizes our investigations and innovations in the work of history.  Join us for six sessions where we will explore the past, present and future of of

Conference Schedule at a Glance:

Wednesday, September 14
2-3:15 pm EDT (11 am-12:15 pm PDT)
Closing a House Museum: From Lemons to Lemonade

3:30-4:45 pm EDT (12:30-1:45 pm PDT)
Finding Our Future Supporters

Thursday, September 15
1:30-2:45 pm EDT (10:30 am-11:45 pm PDT)
Adopting Technology: Challenges and Predictions

4-5:15 pm EDT (1-2:15 pm PDT)
Beyond Numbers: What Does Success Look Like?

Friday, September 16
10:45 am-12 pm EDT (7:45-9 am PDT)
How Do You Use the Collection at Your Historic House?

4-5:15 pm EDT (1-2:15 pm PDT)
The Do’s and Don’ts of Working with Private Collectors and Researchers

Download full conference speaker and session brochure here.

Learn more or register today at http://www.aaslh.org/online2011.htm

 

View more events from this category

Next Event